• A  A  A  


Celebrating our Community in Ottawa

In 2020 SCIO will be celebrating our 75th anniversary. It’s not every day you turn the big 7-5 so we plan to celebrate all throughout the year. We got the party started on November 6 in Ottawa at our Community Celebration, where we reflected on the last 75 years and looked beyond, to the future of SCIO.

The night was held at the lovely St. Elias Banquet Centre, we knew it was going to be a hot night when the alarms went off and the fire truck showed up. Luckily no fire, just the glow of almost 100 people gathered together to shine a light on SCIO and more importantly the people who do so much to help us work toward our vision of people with spinal cord injuries living the life they choose in a fully inclusive Ontario.

To keep things moving our friend Dorn Roche took on yet another role for SCIO, that of Master of Ceremonies. In the over 50 years that Dorn has been involved with SCIO he has been a client, a volunteer, an employee and consultant. Dorn always likes to take on new challenges and, after adaptive curling, sailing and gliding, being an MC is pretty tame but Dorn sure isn’t. He kept the evening moving with humour and fond memories. Thank you, Dorn.

We were joined in spirit, and by video, by our CEO Stuart Howe who was unable to attend but couldn’t resist joining in, raising a glass and toasting how far we have come in 75 years while looking ahead to continue our mission in the years to come. Then our wonderful Ottawa team of Angela Clair, Chris Bourne, Federico Boccechiampe and Wendy Hough were joined by the incredible Brenda Hollingsworth from Auger Hollingsworth, our evening’s dinner sponsor, to present the much deserved awards of recognition.

Congratulations to the deserving award recipients of the evening, whose contributions have been outstanding and have helped make the Ottawa community as powerful and effective as it is:

Luc Polnicky – Ottawa Peer Support Volunteer Award
Maura Athayde – Ottawa Family Peer Support Volunteer Award
Tracey Palmer – Ottawa Health Care Professional Award
Andrew Zwirko – Ottawa Volunteer Award
Burn Tucker Lachaîne – Ottawa Community Partner Award
Mario LeBouthillier OT Consult Ergo – Ottawa Fundraising Partner Award

We were then able to recognize the recipients of one of our core awards the Sharon & Jim Vigmond Philanthropy Award which we had announced earlier in the year in our annual report.  This year the recipients were the team behind the Homan Hogan Charity Bonspiel who have not only raised money but awareness and promoted accessibility in their own community.  To learn more see their profile on our Annual Report.

We couldn’t put on such a great evening without the generous support of our sponsors.  Thanks and appreciation to;

Auger Hollingsworth, Dinner Sponsor
Wright Rehab, Reception Sponsor
Molnlycke, Beverage Sponsor
Burn Tucker Lachaîne, Dessert Sponsor
CBI Health Centre – Community Sponsor
Conval-Aid/Liftability – Community Sponsor
Invacare – Community Sponsor
IBC – Premiere Provincial Sponsor

Thank you to our tech expert Andrew Zwirko and our volunteer photographer, Michael McAuley.

Don’t forget to keep an eye on our Upcoming Events. We’d love to see you at one soon!


? Ask Us
Not sure how we can help? Looking for answers? Connect with InfoLine:
Call 416-422-5644, ext. 213